Browsing articles in "Music Samples"

Gone again

[2013] Rakete Medien GmbH

ads_gone-again-paul-millnsPaul’s new album is available from November 19th, 2013. Called GONE AGAIN, it is an album of twelve new songs all written by Paul in the last two years.
Recorded earlier this year in Ingo Rau’s Freiburg studio, it was produced by Paul and Ingo [who has done an outstanding job with the audio quality].

From the almost Nashville atmosphere of “Gone again” and ” A little Painkilling”, to the blues soaked “Distillery Street” and “Close Companion of the Blues”, via the jazzy “Love in the times of Hardship”, this is surely one of the most varied albums Paul has recorded.


CD 1

Track 1. A Little Painkilling

Track 2. Love Don’t Have To Be Like This

Track 3. Gone Again

Track 4. Distillery Street

Track 5. Beauty Of The High Wire Dancer

Track 6. Close Companion Of The Blues

Track 7. City Boy

Track 8. Love In The Times Of Hardship

Track 9. Odd Job John

Track 10. Tangled Up In Stars

Track 11.Capsized

Track 12.Crazy With Love

Live in Geneva

[2012] PMP / PHIL WICK

A live review of  Paul’s greatest songs in Geneva, Switzerland, produced by Phil Wick and mixed by Ingo Rau at his Amps Factory Studios in Freiburg.

With the outstanding contributions from the Band’s musicians Butch Coulter (harmonica and guitar), Ingo Rau (bass), Vladi Kempf (drums)




CD 1

Track 1. Dust off that pianoforte

Track 2. Lovely day

Track 3. Undercover man

Track 4. The moon might know

Track 5. Nobody home

Track 6. Slippery Sam

Track 7. History of a kiss

Track 8. Happy go lucky Joe

Track 9. The way of the world

 CD 2

Track 1. Calling all clowns

Track 2. That perfume

Track 3. Stuck in a bar

Track 4. Put on a sunny hat

Track 5. Last train blues

Track 6. Gasoline heart

Track 7. Baby what you want me to do (J Reed)

Track 8. When love comes calling


Calling all clowns

11 new songs and one standard, co-produced by Ingo Rau in his Amps Factory Studios in Freiburg.

With contributions from Ingo Rau (bass), Vladi Kempf (drums), Butch Coulter (harmonica), Nick Pentelow (sax), Ralph McTell (Ac. guitar), Niels Kaiser (guitar) and Daniela Dietrich (violin).



Track 1. That Perfume
Track 2.  Calling All Clowns
Track 3. Weather of the Heart
Track 4. Falling for You
Track 5.  Put on a Sunny Hat
Track 6. The Moon Might Know
Track 7. Blame It on You
Track 8. London in the Rain
Track 9.  The Way of the World
Track 10. Homing in on You
Track 11. Slippery Sam
Track 12. My Funny Valentine


[2006] ACOUSTIC MUSIC RECORDS, Europe release
An album of all new compositions also recorded in Ingo Rau’s Amps Factory Studio in Freiburg Germany. It features Nick Pentelow on saxophones, Ingo on upright bass, Vladi Kempf on drums, Steven Bailey on acoustic guitar, Butch Coulter on harmonica, and Daniela Dieterich on violin. Now available through website. UK release date September 2007 on Proper Records.



Track 1. History of a Kiss
Track 2.  Undercover Man
Track 3. One Rainy Sunday
Track 4. Dust Off That Old Pianoforte
Track 5. No Donkey Ride
Track 6. So Long Sleepyhead
Track 7. Back In Your Mainstream
Track 8. Golden Boy
Track 9. Shallow Man
Track 10. Singles Night
Track 11. Stuck In a Bar
Track 12. Hang My Heart Out On the Line
Track 13. The Waiting Game


Composed by Paul after the paintings of Jurg Gabele. Performed by the Orchestra and Choir of Novosibirsk State Opera and Ballet Theatre. Conductor Alexey Ludmillin.




Track 1. Rising of the Papillons
Track 2-3. Entry
Track 4. Arrival
Track 5-7. Transformations – River and Tree
Track 8. Transformations – Meadow
Track 9-10. Conflict
Track 11-12 Pas de Deux
Track 13-14. The Gathering
Track 15-16. The Final Journey
Track 17. Passing Over

When love comes calling

Produced and arranged by Paul, with help from Ingo Rau and Mike Moran. Mainly recorded, mixed and mastered in AMPS Factory Studios, Freiburg.



Track 1. When Love Comes Calling 3.56
Track 2. What’s She Doing Now 4.06
Track 3. Home For The Weekend 4.03
Track 4. Forget Her 4.00
Track 5. Gasoline Heart 4.11
Track 6. Happy Go Lucky Joe 3.34
Track 7. World On Your Shoulders 4.51
Track 8. Unwelcome Neighbour 3.58
Track 9. Lovely Day 3.37
Track 10. ‘Till The Morning Comes 5.17
Track 11. Old enough 3.56
Track 12. Daddy Don’t Come Home 3.32
Track 13. Don’t Wait To Long 5.02
Track 14. Following Footsteps 3.43
Track 15. Who Can Really Tell 4.03
Track 16. Play on 2.56

Stories I could tell

Fresh and sparkling solo recordings of Paul’s
classic songs from the eighties, now hard to find. It also includes some compositions never heard before – plus a version of Screaming Jay Hawkins ‘ I put a spell on you’.




Track 1. Katya 4.36
Track 2. Down in the Danger Zone 3.46
Track 3. All none the wiser 4.23
Track 4. Man overboard 5.55
Track 5. Ooh Last Night 3.58
Track 6. finally Falls the Rain 4.31
Track 7. Dark-Eyed girl from the Island 4.01
Track 8. That Midnight Run 4.31
Track 9. Secret Operations 3.56
Track 10. Martha 5.58
Track 11. No one Listens to the night
Track 12. Far out to sea Tonight 3.09
Track 13. Nobody Home 4.07
Track 14. Desperate Heart 3.34
Track 15. Last Train Blues 5.12
Track 16. stories I could Tell 4.50
Track 17. I Put a Spell on You 2.52


Paul’s eleventh CD contains 15 new songs recorded in Freiburg, Germany, using all acoustic instruments, with contributions from harmonica player Butch Coulter, Steve Bailey on acoustic guitar and fiddle, Ray Austin on trumpet and daughter Nina Millns on back up vocals on ‘Whats she doing now’. It was released in Europe in 2001 and the reviews have been excellent.


Track 1. Old enough 3.53
Track 2. Home for the weekend 4.01
Track 3. World on your shoulders 4.49
Track 4. Poodle Avenue 3.57
Track 5. Gasoline heart 4.06
Track 6. Wind from the east 5.46
Track 7. Another sunset ride 4.32
Track 8. Following footsteps 3.40
Track 9. Happy go lucky joe 3.33
Track 10. Saying it back 3.40
Track 11. Who can really tell 3.49
Track 12. What’s she doing now 4.02
Track 13. Demolition kid 2.48
Track 14. Halfway happy home 3.33
Track 15. Play on 2.55